Classic Wine Trophy awards 2012



On Friday evening I attended the Classic Wine Trophy awards dinner. This year it was held in the Pavilion at the Table Bay Hotel. I must say the lamb rack was the best piece of meat I have eaten in a few months. It was incredible quality and perfectly prepared.

It was good to catch up with the wine folk again, while tasting the winning wines. What makes this competition different from others is that it is judged by French judges and completely blind. So one might expect some interesting results out of the 350 or so entrants, but apart from one or two surprises, the winners are already quite highly acclaimed wines.

My personal favourites were the Glen Carlou Gravel Quarry cabernet sauvignon 2008 and the Malagas Sijnn red blend 2008.

The winning wines are:

Méthode Cap Classique
Boschendal Grand Cuvée Brut 2007

Glen Carlou Chardonnay 2010
Hamilton Russell Vineyards Chardonnay 2010
Julien Schaal Chardonnay 2011
Saronsberg Viognier 2010
Teddy Hall Dr Jan Cats Chenin Blanc Reserve 2010
Tokara Reserve Collection Stellenbosch Chardonnay 2010

Cape Chamonix Reserve Pinot Noir 2010
Delaire Graff Botmaskop 2009
Glen Carlou Gravel Quarry Cabernet Sauvignon 2008
Groot Constantia Pinotage 2010
Groot Constantia Shiraz 2009
KWV The Mentors Shiraz 2009
Perdeberg Reserve Shiraz 2010
Malagas Sijnn red blend 2008
Super Single Vineyards Mount Sutherland Syrah 2009

Perdeberg Weisser Riesling Natural Sweet 2010

Last year’s results are available here.